Skip to main content


PHMC Recognizes Volunteers of the Year







The Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission (PHMC) recognized 23 individuals for their contributions of time, talent, and expertise in 2022 at a Volunteer of the Year Ceremony, held on Saturday, April 15 at The State Museum of Pennsylvania, Harrisburg.

In addition, one honoree received the Outstanding Service Award for long-term volunteer participation and exceptional dedication in memoriam.

All recognized volunteers received a complimentary Family Membership to the Pennsylvania Heritage Foundation.

Since its beginning more than a century ago, PHMC has depended on citizen volunteers to work in partnership with its dedicated paid staff to carry out the preservation and interpretation programs of the agency. Each spring for more than 40 years, commission leadership have gathered with volunteers to say thanks and honor exceptional service.

“Our volunteers are integral to the success of our historic sites and museums,” said PHMC Executive Director Andrea Lowery. “They bring a passion for history, a strong connection to community, and a desire to welcome all who visit to learn more about our shared heritage.”

Each of the historic sites and museums on the Pennsylvania Trails of History are invited to designate a Volunteer of the Year based on service in the preceding calendar year.

Volunteer of the Year Award recipients for 2022 are:

Chester Kulesa - Anthracite Heritage Museum and Iron Furnaces Associates, Anthracite Heritage Museum and Scranton Iron Furnaces

Mario Lerario - Brandywine Battlefield Park Associates, Brandywine Battlefield Park

Jim Comunale - Bushy Run Battlefield Heritage Society, Bushy Run Battlefield

Lynn Otto - Friends of Conrad Weiser Homestead, Conrad Weiser Homestead

Dan Snyder - Friends of Cornwall Iron Furnace, Cornwall Iron Furnace

Faith Mealy and Amber Hannold - Friends of Drake Well Inc., Drake Well Museum and Park

Matthew Gaydos - Eckley Miners’ Village Associates, Eckley Miners’ Village

Douglas Gehr - Ephrata Cloister Associates, Ephrata Cloister

Gayle Chojnacki - Flagship Niagara League, Erie Maritime Museum and US Brig Niagara

Kevin Horan - Friends of Graeme Park, Graeme Park

Phil Williams - Friends of Hope Lodge, Hope Lodge

Micheal McWilliams - The Friends of Joseph Priestley House, Joseph Priestley House

Linda Schock - Landis Valley Associates, Landis Valley Village & Farm Museum

Joyce Patterson - Friends of Old Economy Village, Old Economy Village

Douglas Lehnen - The Pennsbury Society, Pennsbury Manor

Janifer and John Halter - Pennsylvania Lumber Museum Associates, Pennsylvania Lumber Museum

Simon Cressman - Friends of the Pennsylvania Military Museum, Pennsylvania Military Museum

Stephen Jacobs - Friends of the Railroad Museum, Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania

Ron Hillegas - Historical and Genealogical Society of Somerset County, Somerset Historical Center

Alice Herncane - The State Museum of Pennsylvania

Outstanding Service Award
Nancy Hetrick (1944-2022)
Pennsylvania Lumber Museum Associates (PALMA), Pennsylvania Lumber Museum

Powered by Firespring